All the World's Points of Interest!


Yamoussoukro  |  Lacs


The District of Yamoussoukro (/ˌjæmʊˈskr/) is the official political capital and administrative capital city of Côte d'Ivoire, while the economic capital of the country is Abidjan. As of 2010, it was estimated to have 242,744 inhabitants. Located 240 kilometers (150 mi) north-west of Abidjan, the administrative centre on the coast, upon rolling hills and plains, the municipality covers 3,500 square kilometers (1,400 sq mi) and is coterminous with the department of the same name. The department and municipality are split into four sub-prefectures: Attiégouakro, Didiévi, Tié-diékro and the Commune of Yamoussoukro. In total, the district contains 169 settlements.

In 1998, the city had about 155,803 inhabitants. It is the fourth most populous city in Côte d'Ivoire, after Abidjan, Bouaké, and Daloa.

The current governor of the district is Augustin Thiam.

Yamoussoukro is pronounced "Yam-So-Kro" by Ivorians. It's possible to hear "Ya-Mu-So-Kro"; the second "U" is silent.


Villages nearby

Lacs    (14 km)

Other locations nearby

Nzuessi    (3 km)

Abouakouassikro    (4 km)

Bonzi    (4 km)

Morofé    (4 km)

Kikro    (6 km)

Kami    (8 km)

Kbassouakro    (8 km)

Nanan    (8 km)

Ngatakro    (8 km)

Kpoussoussou    (9 km)

Akpessékro    (10 km)

Sahabo    (10 km)

Sanhourikro    (11 km)

Ndakonankro    (12 km)

Diamalabo    (13 km)

Subiakro    (13 km)

Zatta    (13 km)

Abakro    (14 km)

Anoumangoua    (14 km)

Lugbakro    (14 km)

Zata    (14 km)

Gogkro    (15 km)

Yabouébo    (15 km)

Badala    (16 km)

Fondi    (16 km)

Zambakro    (16 km)

Aondo    (17 km)

Gouromnankro    (17 km)

Lolobo    (17 km)

Maounou    (17 km)

Duokro    (18 km)

Kakoubroukro    (18 km)

Ndénou    (18 km)

Ténikro    (18 km)

Konankofikro    (19 km)

Krékrébouma    (19 km)

Mbékro    (19 km)

Ndébo    (20 km)

Nzéré    (20 km)

Churches nearby

Basilica of Our Lady of Peace    (very near)