All the World's Points of Interest!

Estado de Bahia

Barra do Mendes  |  Bahia

Coat of arms of Bahia

Bahia (local pronunciation: [baˈi.ɐ]) is one of the 26 states of Brazil, and is located in the eastern part of the country on the Atlantic coast. It is the fourth most populous Brazilian state after São Paulo, Minas Gerais and Rio de Janeiro, and the fifth-largest in size. Bahia's capital is the city of Salvador, located at the junction of the Atlantic Ocean and the Bay of All Saints, officially first seen by European sailors in 1501. The name "bahia" is an archaic spelling of the Portuguese word baía, meaning "bay".


Other locations nearby

Alagadiço    (very near)

Milagre    (5 km)

Brejo    (8 km)

Mangabeira    (12 km)

Areias    (14 km)

Minas do Espírito Santo    (16 km)

Vargem    (17 km)

Antari    (18 km)

Chapada    (18 km)

Mata Cavalo    (18 km)

Santa Cruz    (20 km)