All the World's Points of Interest!

Chaco Province

San Fernando  |  Chaco

Location of Chaco within Argentina

The Province of Chaco (Spanish: provincia del Chaco, Spanish pronunciation: [ˈtʃako]) is a province in northeastern Argentina. With an area of 99,633 km (38,469 sq mi) and a population of 1,055,259 as of 2010, it is the 12th most extensive and the 9th most populated of the 23 Argentine provinces. Chaco is bordered by Salta and Santiago del Estero to the west, Formosa to the north, Corrientes to the east, and Santa Fe to the south. The province also has an international border with the Paraguayan Department of Ñeembucú. The capital and largest city is Resistencia.

Chaco has long been among the provinces with the worst social indicators in the country. Among Argentine provinces, it ranks last by GDP per capita and 21st by Human Development Index, above its neighbors Formosa and Santiago del Estero.


Big cities nearby

Resistencia    (2 km)

Resistencia Chaco    (2 km)

Corrientes    (15 km)

Big Towns nearby

Barranqueras    (6 km)

Towns nearby

Puerto Vilelas    (8 km)

Puerto Tirol    (13 km)

Smaller towns nearby

Colonia Benítez    (14 km)

Villages nearby

Barrio San Pedro Pescador    (12 km)

Other locations nearby

Paraje San Fernando    (3 km)

La Liguria    (5 km)

Vicentini    (7 km)

El Palmar    (8 km)

Puerto Vicentini    (8 km)

Massacre of Margarita Belén    (13 km)

Bañado Sur    (14 km)

Villa Jalón    (16 km)